MORT day 2 – late

02

“come on” Desmond shouted and started running the second we were out the door.

I stood hugging myself, for a second, taking in the scene as Desmond disappeared into the freezing combination of mist and snow.

Large heavy flakes were drifting lazily down, making it impossible to see more than 2 feet in front of your face. The dilapidated features of the ruins in my port of sector 4 were already starting to disappear under a fresh coat of snow.

The scene was actually kind of beautiful, which made me forget for a moment, that I was in a hurry, but then I heard Desmond distant voice from somewhere out in the fog “for gods sake, Mort, COME ON!”

I took a deep breath of the brisk air and started running.

I caught up to Desmond and we ran in silence side by side through the snow. The muffled sounds of the bells cathedral bells reassured me that there was still time, but Desmond and I had a while to go still.

I don’t think I ever ran so fast in my life. By the time we turned the corner that faced the cathedral, I had lost all feeling in my feet and I was soaked to the bone. The fog had cleared up a bit, so I could see the doors of the cathedral inching together just meters away. If I thought I was fast before, then I was definitely flying at this point.

I just made it in the nick of time, to squeeze through the barely open doors. Desmond, was not so lucky. I turned around and caught a glimpse of him running as the doors closed.

A wave of guilt washed over me as I heard him slam his hands against the door from the outside. He was going to have to do overtime and that was on me.

I hung my head as I started to walk towards the stands. I could hear the guards at the door sniggering behind me.

The cathedral was a huge dome shaped building, which, like most building from before the plague, was made completely out of concrete. The Makers tried to spruce it up, by adding a thick red carpet and huge dark tapestries, but the overall effect was just gloomy.

I made my way to the winding staircase that lead to the musty second floor balcony, also known as the late section.

The choir was just finishing some sad hymn when I made my way to the pews. The 3 big screens over the alter showed the crest of Savior City and the room was packed. I found an empty seat in the last row and tried to settle down next to a tiny asian girl with pitch black hair. She looked at my soaked clothing, puzzled. She was about to say something when the song abruptly ended.

Leave a comment